In 1772 Philippe Clicquot, from a family of bankers and textile merchants, already owns vineyards and decides to establish a wine business. From the very beginning, the House states its ambition of "crossing borders". In 1805 When François Clicquot, the founder's son, dies, his widow is 27. It takes her only a few weeks to come to a decision. She thus becomes one of the first businesswomen of modern times. In 1814
Veuve Clicquot Domain
Beginning with the Bouzy vineyards that originally belonged to founder Philippe Clicquot, subsequent generations - and more particularly Madame Clicquot - gradually built up the Veuve Clicquot property through determination, intuition and acumen to make it one of the foremost vineyards in all of Champagne.
The Veuve Clicquot vineyards cover 393 hectares of land belonging to Veuve Clicquot to supply grapes to the House. It spreads over the very best Champagne growth areas: 12 of the 17 Grands Crus and 18 of the 44 Premiers Crus. The vineyards boast an exceptional average classification of close to 96%, a ranking that is based on the wine growing properties of the terroir and the quality of the grapes produced.
The vines are mostly planted on the hillside where the soil is the shallowest and exposure to the sun is at a maximum.
Who was the first to think of using the old quarries to stock champagne bottles? Although it is difficult to say, Veuve Clicquot did take advantage of the opportunity to increase cellaring space for its wines. In 1909, the House bought some magnificent chalk cellars, located on the Saint-Nicaise hills, which today enjoy new life as ageing cellars. A labyrinth of shadow and light, pale walls scored by the marks of their creators, these chalk cellars serve as a silent host to the very best vintages.... Stretching over more than 24 kilometres under the Champagne soil, the chalk tunnels form a monument in tribute to the House. It is here that visitors from the world over come to discover the history and savoir-faire of Veuve Clicquot